Minutes HPNC Monthly Meeting June 14, 2022 7-8:15pm

- 1) Community Service Officer Mike O'Rourke made his Community Incident Report
- 2) The meeting voted overwhelmingly to support Historic Boston in its application for a grant from the Henderson Foundation to replace the roof, make structural improvements and replace the chimneys on 50 Cedar St.
- The meeting discussed the 35 names of those nominated by the community to serve on the Highland Park Architectural Conservation District Commission (ACDC) as two commissioners and the 2 alternates. Some nominees present indicated that they were not able to serve; others confirmed that they were, shortening the list of nominees. There was a discussion about the process of voting, questioning the too brief time allocated to get to know all the nominees and to learn why they wished to serve. It was agreed, however, in light of the Landmark Commission's deadline of June 17, to go ahead with the vote following brief self-introductions from some of the nominees present. A ballot was introduced on the screen and voting happened in real time at the meeting. Those who wished for more time to consider their votes were given until the following day to complete their vote.*
- 4) Because we were running out of time, the meeting voted to postpone the discussion about the HPNC Developer Presentation Procedures until the JULY meeting.

Reports

Hawthorne Youth & Community Center announced its upcoming celebration of Juneteenth on Saturday, June 18.

If you wish to be added to the HPNC Listserv, please email Rodney Singleton at Rodne...@gmail.com

If you wish to get in touch with the HPNC Steering Committee, please email them at HPNCSteeringcommittee@gmail.com

* When the votes were tallied one day later, the candidates selected as nominees by the HPNCwere: Andrew Shelburne (20 votes), Curtis Perrin (19 votes), Sister Angela Cooke (18 votes), Rodney Singleton (18 votes), Ena Fox (16 votes), Scotland Willis (12 votes), Josh Rosewood (10 votes), Sule Gajere (9 votes), Bianca Sigh Ward (9 votes), Randy Foote (9 votes)